top of page

History of North Eastern MetroStars

In only our short existence, North Eastern MetroStars have become one of Australia’s most successful Football clubs. The club’s history dates back to 1994, when a meeting in a snack bar saw the merging of ex-patriots of the West Side Calabrian Club and the East Side Eagles, all who shared a common dream. The dream; to create the best soccer club in Australia. Red and Yellow would be the colours, the traditional Sicilian symbol, The Trinacria would be the logo (to represent their alliance with the Sicilian Club), and Sam Settecasi would be president; the Metro Knights were born. Committee members included Peter Pipicella, Andrew Perrone, Tony Taormina, Ady DiBartolo, Frank Calipari and Rob Rende and the requirement was that the passion for good value soccer and love of the game would always be the driving force behind the club. The Metro Knights aimed to set the standard for all other soccer clubs, whether it be their uniforms (stripes were chosen under the advice that they are threatening to the opposition), the standard of coaching or the standard of players, the Knights would always be the benchmark.

Photo - A look at some of our past kits

The club began to play in the South Australian Amateur Soccer League (SAASL) in 1995. Metro Knights finished second in their first year but this was not enough to quench the thirst for success that the club stood for. The Knights finished first in the 1996 season and were promoted to Division 1 in the Amateur League where they continued to finish in the top three. After an invitation by the South Australian Soccer Federation (SASF) in 1999 to then join the State League, the Knights, changed their name to North Eastern MetroStars, and did the unprecedented with promotion to the Premier League in their first year.

Photo - First Team in 1999

It did not take long for success to come to MetroStars, with the club winning their first Premier League Minor Premiership in 2003. In 2004, the club created history, with triple success in claiming the Premier League Championship, Minor Premiership and Federation Cup title. In only five years of Federation soccer, the club went from a new member to the highest pinnacle in the local game. In 2006, MetroStars became the first club to become a member of the newly formed Football Federation SA (FFSA). MetroStars secured its second Federation Cup in 2008, and in season 2009 the club won it’s second Premier League Championship. The club enjoyed a period of major success when they won the Premier League Minor Premiership in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014. In 2012, MetroStars secured the double by winning the Premier League Championship and Federation Cup.

The highest honour the club has won came in 2014, when 20 years since formation, MetroStars claimed the National NPL Championship with a 1-0 victory over Bonnyrigg White Eagles in Sydney. In 2016 and 2017, MetroStars won back to back Federation Cup titles. MetroStars have participated in the 2015, 2016 and 2017 FFA Cup major rounds.

MetroStars' Reserves, Under 18 and Junior teams have won multiple trophies in both League and Cup competitions, but the success of our teams is done to each player's development through their journey with our club. The success of the Stars continues today, with the senior teams and junior teams never failing to produce first class soccer. The culture of the club has been firmly implanted, MetroStars will always strive to be the best soccer club in Australia.

Metro Homes thumbnail.png
Untitled design (12).png
Untitled design (10).png
bottom of page