top of page

Amateur side Elizabeth Downs draws five-time winner MetroStars in FFA Cup SA quarter-finals

THE sole amateur club remaining in the FFA Cup SA will face a five-time winner in the last eight of the competition as it looks to make state knockout history.

Elizabeth Downs was paired with National Premier Leagues SA powerhouse MetroStars in Tuesday’s quarter-final draw at Hindmarsh Stadium. The reigning Sunday Premier champion dumped out State League Two Vipers in the round-of-16 on the weekend. But it will face a tougher assignment against Robbie Saraceno’s men in its bid to become the first amateur side to make the final four of the SA cup.

The midweek tie will be played on May 22-23. Fixture details and venues will be announced in the coming days. The winner of the FFA Cup SA will join A-League club Adelaide United and national NPL winner Campbelltown City as the state’s representatives in the national round of 32.

Elizabeth Downs striker Matt Watson, pictured with former MetroStars vice captain Liam Wooding in 2018.

Full Draw for FFA Cup SA Qualifying Quarter Finals

(ties to be played 21st/22nd May)

Croydon Kings vs. Adelaide City

Adelaide Comets vs. Raiders Elizabeth Downs vs. MetroStars Adelaide Victory vs. Adelaide Olympic

Metro Homes thumbnail.png
Untitled design (12).png
Untitled design (10).png
bottom of page