top of page

Barbiero Claims Club Champion Award

Fabian Barbiero has capped off a stellar season at MetroStars by claiming the Lee Robertson Medal at the club's 2019 Presentation Evening last night. Barbiero played in 21 matches this season, scoring 1 goal, and was part of an instrumental part of a strong Metro midfield.

The Club Champion award was renamed this year after club legend Lee Robertson - who won the award an incredible SIX times during his time at the club.

Dylan Smith, who arrived at T.K. Shutter Reserve this season from Sturt Lions, shared the Joe Tripodi Award for Players' Player of The Year with last year's Rising Star Hamish Gow. Christian Esposito claimed the Golden Boot Award for the third season running, scoring 14 goals in all competitions. Theo Doufos claimed the Reserves' Player of the Year Awards with his good performances on the field this season, whilst Luis Benedetti and Luke Frangakis shared the Player's Player award. Cooper O’Donnell was awarded the club's David Menechella Rising Star Award for his impressive season, notching up 12 appearances in the First Team whilst continuing his good form in the Reserves.

Alessio Melisi capped off a superb season in the Under 18's by taking out the Golden Boot and Players' Player award as well as sharing the Best and Fairest award with teammate Daniel Frangakis. Nick DiLorenzo was awarded the Metro Knights Perpetual Trophy. The award, which is selected by the previous year's recipient, is about paying tribute to those who often unselfishly sacrifice themselves for the good of this club. The award is only awarded to a non-paid individual who has been involved with our club for the past 12 months. It is a recognition for services of and individual over and beyond expectations. 2019 Roll of Honour Lee Robertson Medalist (Club Champion) Fabian Barbiero Joe Tripodi Award (Players’ Player) Dylan Smith and Hamish Gow Golden Boot Christian Esposito David Menechella Award (Rising Star) Cooper O'Donnell Metro Knights Perpetual Trophy Nick DiLorenzo


Best & Fairest Award Theo Doufos Players Player Award Luis Benedetti and Luke Frangakis

Golden Boot Matthew Charalambous and Ben Head Under 18

Best & Fairest Award Alessio Melisi and Daniel Frangakis Players Player Award Alessio Melisi

Golden Boot Alessio Melisi

Metro Homes thumbnail.png
Untitled design (12).png
Untitled design (10).png
bottom of page