top of page

Barbiero retains Club Champion Award

Fabian Barbiero has capped off a stellar season at MetroStars by claiming the Lee Robertson Medal for the second straight season at the club's 2020 Presentation Evening last night. Barbiero played in 22 matches this season, scoring 1 goal, and continued to be a vital member of the squad.

Nahuel Bonada, currently on trial with A-League side Central Coast Mariners, shared the Joe Tripodi Award for Players' Player of The Year with Tim Henderson. Christian Esposito claimed the Golden Boot Award for the fourth season running, scoring 16 goals in all competitions. Theo Doufos retained the Reserves' Player of the Year Awards with his good performances on the field this season, whilst Jayden Spruyt and Luke Frangakis shared the Player's Player award. Ariath Piol was awarded the club's David Menechella Rising Star Award for his impressive season, notching up 3 appearances in the First Team whilst continuing his good form in the Reserves and Under 18 sides. Piol also took out the Golden Boot in the Reserves.

Jackson Fortunatow capped off a superb season in the Under 18's by taking out the Best and Fairest award, while Abbas Habib was voted as the winner of the Players' Player award. Francesco Schimizzi took out the Golden Boot award. Joe Mastrantuone was awarded the Metro Knights Dino Polisena Perpetual Award. The award, which is selected by the previous year's recipient, is about paying tribute to those who often unselfishly sacrifice themselves for the good of this club. The award is only awarded to a non-paid individual who has been involved with our club for the past 12 months. It is a recognition for services of and individual over and beyond expectations.

Longtime club volunteer George Laoutaris was also recognised for his contributions to the club with an Outstanding Service Award.

2020 Roll of Honour Lee Robertson Medalist (Club Champion) Fabian Barbiero Joe Tripodi Award (Players’ Player) Nahuel Bonada and Tim Henderson Golden Boot Christian Esposito David Menechella Award (Rising Star) Ariath Piol Metro Knights Dino Polisena Perpetual Award Joe Mastrantuone


Best & Fairest Award Theo Doufos Players Player Award Jayden Spruyt and Luke Frangakis

Golden Boot Aiath Piol

Under 18

Best & Fairest Award Jackson Fortunatow Players Player Award Abbas Habib

Golden Boot Francesco Schimizzi


Metro Homes thumbnail.png
Untitled design (12).png
Untitled design (10).png
bottom of page